Rustic Asian Pear Pie

Rustic Asian Pear Pie

I can still remember the very first bite I took of an Asian pear. I remember who I was with and where we were. I was visiting one of my very best friends and she was hungry for a snack. She led me out to the garage where there was an entire case of  Asian Pears. She asked if I wanted one, and I was like, “What is is?” I had never heard of or seen this apple like fruit before this. She said, “It’s an Asian pear, they’re like an apple and a pear combined into one.” Sounds good to me. So I tried it. Oh my, it was so sweet, but slightly crunchy. I was hooked. So when my bf brought home a box of Asian Pears the other day, I couldn’t wait to make something. First thought was a crisp, but I’ve been doing too many of those. Time to tackle the gluten free pie crust! I don’t think I’ve even had pie since my diagnosis. I never ate much pie before, probably because the crust made me sick?!

The crust came out even better then I thought it would. This crust is flaky, light and buttery. No more missing out on homemade pie! You can use this Asian pear recipe or add your own filling. I parred this with some cinnamon applesauce. The cool apple sauce with the warm pie is a perfect combination.

Rustic Asian Pear Pie

Bottom Crust:

(Double this, if you want a top crust as well.)

1/2 cup + 1Tb.  Brown rice flour

1/2 cup + 1 Tb. Tapioca flour

1 Tb. Evaporated cane sugar

1/2 tsp. Baking powder

1 1/2 tsp. Xanthan gum

1/2 cup Organic butter, chilled

1 Lg. egg

1 tsp. Apple cider vinegar


Filling:

4-6 Asian pears, sliced

2 Tb. Lime or Lemon Juice

1/4 cup Evaporated cane sugar

2 Tb. Tapioca Flour

1 tsp. Cinnamon

1 tsp. Ginger

1/4 tsp. Nutmeg

1/2 tsp. Salt


Nut Topping:

1/4 cup Almonds, chopped

1/4 cup Cashews, chopped

1/4 tsp. Salt

1 Tb. Evaporated Cane Sugar


Preheat oven to 350 F.

Mix flours, sugar, baking powder, xanthan gum, and salt into a mixing bowl.

Chop chilled butter into small pieces and hand mix into dry mixture, until fully incorporated and holding together.

Mix egg and vinegar. Add to dough. Use extra tapioca flour is dough is too sticky. (I usually oil my hands to handle dough.)

Roll dough out, cover pie pan and remove excess crust.

Bake pie crust 10- 15 minutes, so it can firm up before filling.

Mix sliced Asian pears with lime juice, tapioca, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger.

Mix nuts, sugar and salt.

Add Asian pear mixture into pie shell and top with nuts. (optional: add top layer of crust and top with nuts.)

Change oven temperature to 400 F and bake for 45 -60 minutes.


One thought on “Rustic Asian Pear Pie

Leave a Reply

