English Muffins

English Muffins

It was only recently that I found a store bought variety of English muffins that are really good (Food For Life). So, of course I had to try to make my own. I was even lucky enough to catch Alton Brown making them on the Food Network the other day. He gives great tips about cooking and baking that help you understand the actual chemistry of what your doing.

You will need some English muffin baking rings. I found some at the local kitchen store for $5.95. Not bad considering how many times I will use them and all the money I will save from buying bulk flours and making all my own baked goods. In case you  haven’t noticed, gluten free products are not exactly cheap. These days most people are usually too busy to do their own baking, I get that. If you spent a few hours baking on Saturday or Sunday you would have all the bread, muffins and cookies you could possibly need for the rest of the week. If you have kids, please, involve them! How else are they going to learn to feed themselves before you to send them off to be grown-ups. How else are they going to learn that bread doesn’t come from the grocery store and chickens don’t come breaded. Plus, kids are much more likely to try new foods if they take part in the preparation. Another benefit to the homemade baked goods is that you are totally in control of what goes into them. Maybe you are avoiding dairy or eggs or even corn. It can be very difficult to find gluten free products that also meet other dietary restrictions.

The more I bake from scratch the easier it becomes and the less I even want to eat those processed breads coming from some factory who knows where. Nope, I like knowing that my kitchen is 100% gluten free and safe. I like knowing exactly what ingredients are in my cookies and breads. And I love that the eggs I use come from the organic free range chickens in my backyard. 🙂

Slice and toast these English muffins. Serve them with nut butter and jam, make a small sandwich or dunk in your favorite soup.

 

English Muffin Baking Rings

 

English Muffin Baking Rings

English Muffins

1 c. Warmed rice milk

1 Tb. Evaporated cane sugar

1 tsp. Sea salt

1 Tb. Olive oil

 

1 Packet dry active yeast

1/3 c. Warm water

1 1/2 c. Brown rice flour

1/2 c. Tapioca flour

1 tsp. Xanthan gum

English Muffin Rings for baking

Makes 6 muffins.

 

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Whisk together warm milk, salt, sugar and oil until sugar is combined.

Set aside to cool.

In another bowl mix yeast and warm water. Set aside.

Once yeast has dissolved, add to milk mixture.

Add flour and beat with a wooden spoon until well combined.

Let rise for 30 minutes in a warm place.

Grease baking pan and lay out rings.

Once dough has risen, spoon into rings and flatten with wet fingers. Brush with olive oil.

Bake about 15 minutes. They don’t brown very much.

Slice, toast and serve.

English Muffins

Leave a Reply

