Spiced Apple Pecan Muffins

Spiced Apple Pecan Muffin

I realize it’s been quite some time since my last post. It took me awhile to recover from December. Change, stress and dealing with other people’s insanity and drama took quite a toll on me mentally and physically. Once things started to settle down in January I stumbled upon a treatment that is most often used in terminal cancer cases, but has been shown to cure any type of physical ailment. It is called the Gerson Therapy. It is a very serious and difficult dietary undertaking and is usually first done with the help of medical professionals. The reason this struck such a chord with me was not only because my father passed away from a terminal cancer, but because the basis of the treatment is fresh pressed vegetable and fruit juices, complete elimination of salt, and very little to no consumption of meats. There are many other facets to this diet therapy and it is not something to be taken lightly. I am just taking aspects from it to try to get myself to the most optimal health I can.

So, why I am I going on and on about this… well because my diet, cooking and recipes have changed because of this new knowledge. I won’t be posting many recipes that include meat anymore, since I just don’t want to eat it. I am going for a mostly vegan diet. 🙂

People have been asking where the posts/recipes have been these last few months and it’s been a struggle to come up with something I felt was good enough to share. Not everyone is into vegan, egg free, dairy free, gluten free food.  Although I did make a great minestrone soup with kale and sprouted mung beans that may need to be shared.  The pressure is there to come up with some great baked item to sell or market somehow.. and that seems so daunting, so I’ve just been concentrating on muffins lately. After a few duds I am really excited about this flour combination. Not too gooey, not too crumbly, perfectly moist and just the right amount of crumb.

Spiced Apple Pecan Muffins

Makes 12 medium muffins.

1 c. very fine White or brown rice flour

1/2 c. Gluten free oats, ground (can use a coffee grinder)

1/4 c. Tapioca flour

1/4 c. Millet flour

2 tsp. Baking powder

1 tsp. Egg replacer

1/2 tsp. Xanthan Gum

1/2 tsp. Baking soda

1/4 tsp. Sea salt

1/2 tsp. Cinnamon

1/4 tsp. Ginger powder

1/4 tsp. Allspice

2/3 c. Cane sugar or honey

1/2 c. Coconut oil

1 c. Hot water

1  1/2 tsp. Flax meal

3/4 c. Apple, peeled and diced

3/4 c. Pecans, chopped

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Place 12 muffins liners in muffin pan and sprinkle each with flour.

Add flax meal to a bowl and mix with hot water.

Add coconut oil to hot water mixture.

In a separate large bowl, combine rice flour, oat flour, millet flour, tapioca flour, baking powder, egg re placer, xanthan gum, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, allspice and sugar. (if using honey instead of sugar, add to water mix.)

Add wet ingredients to dry and mix gently. Add in apples and pecans and mix until combined.

Spoon mix into muffin liners, evenly dividing into 12 muffins.

Bake at 375 for 18 – 20 minutes.

 

Spiced Apple Pecan Muffins

2 thoughts on “Spiced Apple Pecan Muffins

  1. Welcome back darlin’… Anything you can share thats gluten free and yummy is always a winner in my books, no matter what other ingredients you exclude… Our family lives a multi-faceted menu – we eat everything from Vegan, to raw, to dairy free, etc… As long as it tastes good and gluten free :))

Leave a Reply

